Magical Realism and My Blog

I am a very vivid dreamer. My dreams are long, surreal, and I always remember them when I wake up. I’ve mentioned before on this blog that many of my story ideas come from dreams I’ve had. When people ask me what I like to write about – what genre – I’ve always had a very hard time putting a name on it. I usually try to do explain myself by listing a bunch of books that are similar in nature, usually books they’ve never read or even heard of.

I made perhaps the greatest discovery in my writing career this past MFA residency. This time, when I rattled off this list of books to multiple readers I received the same response: That’s called Magical Realism. Now I know what I like to write. Even better, I have a huge list of authors to read and learn from.

Now that I’ve really discovered what path I’m on as a fiction writer, I wonder if my blog should begin to reflect the fact. I’ve often thought about keeping a journal in which I intertwine the happenings of my real life and the surreal strangeness of my dreams. I didn’t realize it until recently, but this would be a practice in Magical Realism itself.

When I woke up this morning I had an epiphany. I’ll make my blog this Magical Realist’s journal…and not only will it tell these stories in word but in picture as well.

So what do you think? Each post will appear in part like your standard blog, interesting things happening in my life, my reflections etc. Mixed into this realism will be the fantastical, but not fantastical for fantastical’s sake. My goal is to bring more insight and depth to each post with these magical elements, as such elements do in MR literature. With each post I’ll include an appropriate photograph or picture that is equally strange and intriguing (I’ll be putting my digital artistic skills to work for these). The blogs will require a little more time and attention and will therefore be less frequent, maybe every other day instead of every day.

I feel like such an approach to the blog will serve multiple purposes. Ideally it will be more entertaining for the readers. In addition, it will help me create a more focused platform as an aspiring Magical Realist.

Please let me know what your thoughts are on this. If a shift in focus kills my audience than it’s probably not worth it.

Published in: on August 2, 2010 at 10:53 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daravenberg.wordpress.com/2010/08/02/magical-realism-and-my-blog/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Shifts in focus make the magical realism real. And magical. Do it.

  2. I love magical realism. I cannot write it, so you must do it, salt-shaker crab man.


Leave a Reply

