Digital publishing, yes or no?

This may or may not be the Apple’s new iSalte, but that’s a discussion for another post. I’ve been thinking a lot about the digital distribution of books. It may be far off as a means of main stream publication, but I think it’s inevitable. My question is: if this is the future of book publication, should I consider digitally publishing my novel, on Amazon.com or the like? I have some experience in internet and social marketing, and I think I could do a good job of getting the word out. However, doing so will likely mean death for my chances of getting the book published by traditional means? What do you think?

On the subject, the more we see books moving towards digital distribution, the more we’ll see pirates hoisting their colors and setting sale to loot and pillage. I think this could be a really big problem for publishers in the future. The music industry has taken a big hit in this regard. But digital distribution is not inherently bad. It can give unpublished writers like myself the chance to generate hype and build a fan base.

What are your thoughts on the subject?

Published in: on January 26, 2010 at 11:09 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daravenberg.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/digital-publishing-yes-or-no/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. For the time being, I think digital distribution is a great way to promote print media since (until this morning) there wasn’t a very compelling way to read eliterature on a mobile device and I don’t think people want to sit in front of their computers to read a book.


Leave a Reply

